Smear Anxiety and CC symptoms

Hi everyone,

I am 29 years old next month and am looking to book my first ever smear test this week.

I have been ignoring some symptoms for a few years including dysparaeunia, and my periods became much heavier. The most alarming one being that I have unintentionally lost about 7kgs over the past 12 months which has really frightened me and makes me suspect that my diagnosis would be a stage 3 CC. I also have always had extreme pelvic pain on the first day of my period.

I also went on the POP pill back in June, I only took them for one month as I started to feel extremely anxious but since then my period has been very inconsistent, which I put down to the pill at first but I now don’t know what to think as it could be a further symptom for CC.

I could really do with some guidance on managing the fear and anxiety while I wait for my test and results, I feel really low and upset with myself for being generally terrible at my health maintenance. I also wanted to ask if it would affect the sample for me to get a private smear done in the same week as a NHS one as I just cant bear the wait times for results. And can my GP use my results from my private smear to pursue NHS treatment options?

Hi emma and welcome

Sorry you are having such a difficult time at the moment. I suggest you make a prompt GP appointment on account of your symptoms; if your GP thinks there is reason for concern you will get an urgent referral and should be seen within 2 weeks.

I would also suggest to avoid googling to try and self diagnose. I know it can be hard to resist but it invariably feeds the fear and anxiety.

x

1 Like

Hi Jazza,