Side effects of radical trachelectomy

Hi everyone,
I’m new to Jos trust!
I was recently diagnosed with cervical cancer 1b1 and went to London for a radical trachelectomy.
I was in for 5 days and seemed to get on ok, since getting home I have noticed very numb thighs and pelvis area.
I understand this can be normal but it has progressed on to being sore to even touch, almost like a burning feeing of anything is brushed against the skin.
Is this normal?

Thank you in advance for any replies :slight_smile:

Hi there 

Welcome to the forum.  I had a trachelectomy in Feb 2015.  I had numbness at first followed by the area being really, really oversensitive.  I think this is the nerves coming back to life after the op and it can be pretty painful. It's a good thing in the long run though!  

Keep an eye on it and if you suspect any kind of infection (redness, discharge from incision, extreme pain or fever) then be sure to call your nurse or see your GP.  How are you feeling otherwise?  If you are interested there is also a facebook group with over 100 women from around the world who have had trachs.  They are a lovely bunch.  The group is completley private and closed (won't appear in your feed). Link below in case you want to join. Hope you have a speedy recovery xxx

Try the link below or search TTL Trachelectomy Group on facebook 

https://www.facebook.com/groups/231347643723363/

Hi Nellie, 

Thank you so much, that has really put my mind at ease, it does feel a little hot but I think because I was worrying so much it could have been a little physcholigocal also but I will definitely keep an eye on it. 

I feel ok, I came home on Friday and my husband took part in a charity day for force cancer charity on Saturday which I was stubborn enough to attend much to his disapproval and I think I over did it with sitting upright for so long so my back is a little sore. 

My incisions look like they are heeling well I just hate the daily injections!