Scared and nervous

I have had a letter saying I'm HPV positive and have high grade changes. My appointment is on Thursday and due to Covid have to go in alone. Im trying to remain optimistic but I'm just so scared about the results. I'm also worried that the procedure will really hurt. 

Just any advice/experiences of the treatment would be greatly appreciated.

thanks 

Hey Jen,

I was in your exact position a week ago, and the thought of going in alone if I got bad news was making me extremely anxious (and I'm a Nurse.. I think that's more of a curse when it comes to your own health).

Honestly, as soon as I got there I felt 1000% better. They are health professionals, they were comforting, reassuring and informative.

the Colposcopy itself will not feel any different than to that of a smear test. I also had biopsies that day. They use local anaesthetic which is a tiny little sting (nothing to worry about, I promise) and then after that, you don't feel a thing!

Even if they want to do a "see and treat" so perform the LLETZ there and then, you will have local anaesthetic and after that little tiny sting, you won't feel a thing! It's the thought of it all that is the worst I think.

i have my appointment tomorrow where I get my biopsy results and possibly the LLETZ. I'm slightly anxious mostly about the results but if I have to have the LLETZ, I know it won't be much to worry about.

your anxiety is very normal. It's the unknown that's the worst. I'm sure you will feel better tomorrow when you have the chance to ask questions!

good luck!

jen 

Hi Jen..

:) Didn't want to read and not reply!

I completely understand your fear- I was here 6 months ago. I went from normal smear to Cin3 in 3 years and had to have a lletz/leep at my first colposcopy.