new member and worried

Hi there, I'm rather new to this so please be gentle! Anyway I'm 28 and had my smear results back today which have tested positive for hpv and shown high grade (severe) dyskaryosis. Now I've been a bit daft and hit the Google button (silly I know!) but I've managed to work myself up into worse case scenario territory and I'm petrified nothing seems to make sense I've tried to ring doctors and the colposcopy clinic to to try to make an appointment to know avail. If any one has any advice about how to get my head together whilst I'm waiting for appointment to come through I'd be eternally grateful! 

Am in same boat your not alone x

Hello jrt1986, I would have said ''don't google it'' but I see you already have!  we've all made that mistake.  The colposcopy is very effective at dealing with this, hopefully you'll get appointment soon &  knowing you have had this done might  ease your mind a bit, though the worry will start all over again until you get colposcopy results too.  Best thing you can do while you wait,  is keep yourself busy, if you've a hobby, reading, swimming, knitting, sewing, crafts, anything, indulge yourself in some kind of project. 

Hopefully next time you're on here you'll have had the  colposcopy and  a good outcome!

Best wishes

Sharon

Thank you for your kind replies, I just feel so worried I can't help feeling so worried about going for colpos. Everyone says not to worry including my family but it's just so scary? Does the colpos hurt?

I had my Colposcopy yesterday and it was uncomfortable at times but didn't hurt at all even when he took the biopsy and cauterised afterwards. It doesn't last too long and you get a cuppa and biccies afterwards. Well I did anyway lol xx