Advice please.scared

Hi all im new to hear so please bear with me.I had my first smear on dec 15 n got the letter saying high grade dyskaryosis on 27th.appointment has been made for this friday for colposcopy.my question is at this appointment will they be able to give an idea if something is seriously wrong?im sooo worried.i have frequent aching in my back where kidneys are and sometimes in left shoulder but only after being busy.ive also had a change in periods as in theyve gone from bright red blood to light pink more like mucus.ive never given it much thought until given the abnormal result but now im terrified 

Oh, Woo, it is so scary to get a letter like that! Then you Google and attribute every ache, pain and symptom to scary stuff. My top tip is to avoid Google - it's not your friend! At the colposcopy they might be able to answer some questions but, in my experience, they might not volunteer information if you don't ask. Ask them what they can see! Make sure you know when and how you will get your results. There might be very little to worry about so try to soothe yourself. Take care and I hope the colposcopy goes well and reassures you. :)

Kirsty x

Thankyou for your reply.I didnt understand the wording of the letter or what it meant hence why i went to google for answers.ive just worked myself up into such a state over it.mainly because of my children.im a single mum see and just worried for them xx

Hi Woo,

I am booked in for a colposcopy on Friday too and am so worried. I have stupidly been googling myself silly (between weeping like a child and drinking the Christmas wine when the kids are asleep). Keep your spirits up, not long now. Never have I dreaded something so much yet needed it to happen so soon. 

good luck with it, hoping it will turn out ok for us both, and anyone else reading this who may not be ready to post. You are not alone in this