High risk HPV is back

I had LLETZ in 2020 due to having a ‘large amount’ of high risk HPV.
I had a couple of clear smears after that but in 2022 was told that there was HPV present again. The doctor wanted to wait until my next routine smear (12 months) to see if my body was able to clear the infection on its own.
I went back Monday and it hasn’t. Still showing high risk HPV with ‘viral and abnormal cell changes’. She didn’t give me too much information there and then. They said I need to wait 6-8 weeks for the result and will most likely be referred to an MDT.
I’m interested to know has anyone been in a similar situation? What are the treatment options E.g. can you have LLETZ a second time?
I’m trying to remain as calm as possible but any advice or guidance would be appreciated! Thank you.

1 Like

hi there,

i’m sorry i couldn’t advice much, as it is my first time having hpv, but i want to send my love to you and pray that your case is not a severe one.

but for the time being, after the lletz, did you have a new partner or anything? what strain of high risk hpv is it? could it be the recent positive test is a different strain?

my advice is to talk to your gp or gynae again and to ask if it is possible to go for another lletz.

1 Like

Yes so, you can have lletz second time of course.

3 times in total and then hysterectomy cos no more cervix left.

What type of hpv strain do you have? is it a re-activation or infection with a new strain? What is your age?

Unfortunately, this is the problem with hpv, and lletz, in 10-15% the abnormal cells come back after treatment. They can come back after 2-3 years or even after 20-25 years. It is not a catholic cure.

2 Likes