Feeling low and anxious

I am sorry if this has already been posted but I cannot see it on the forum. 

It is lovely to come across something like this for support and people who understand how you may feel. 

Yesterday i recieved a letter following my latest smear which states severe dyskaryosis and my appointment enclosed for a colposcopy on Monday. 

This has all made me feel really anxious to be honest, I have hardly ate or slept the weekend, I have read it can be common but I can’t help thinking over things in my head. I am a nurse and sometimes I don’t think we make the best patients! I am not so nervous about the proceduee it’s just the waiting and the unknown.

I have work coming up, I don’t feel like I can concentrate until this is all out of the way on Monday. My husband wants me to ring in sick as he said it also isnt fair on patients or staff if my mind isnt on the job. It’s very rare I have time off work so I think perhaps people would question things at work? I have also read about treatments and regarding heavy lifting how does this link with work? 

Just feel like perhaps I need to pull myself together until next week and face it all then and try and carry on as normal as possible.

Thank you 

Hey Lewis89, 

I was in a really similar position to you - I'm a junior doctor, had my first smear, was told CIN 3 and had a LLETZ last Monday. Please please try not to worry about it. I completely agree that we don't make the best patients and I was probably the poor nurses' most annoying patient all day questioning her every move but it really isn't that bad. I also had to go to work straight after. I too was worried after reading lots about pain and heavy bleeding but I was completely fine. I know nurses generally do lots more heavy lifting etc but I knew I couldn't get any time off so I just accepted the fact I'd have to be ok to go to work and it was completley ok.