Colposcopy and Biopsy...The waiting game

Hi all,

I'm a newbie here and after trawling the internet for information I came across this site.

I wonder if someone can please offer me some advice (I'm a worrier BTW!). I'm 45 with one child and my smears etc have always come back clear and i've never experienced any problems in that area.

I had a routine smear a few weeks ago and received a letter saying 'Borderline changes and HPV positive'. I have private medical insurance at work (thankfully) and so went on Friday and saw a consultant and had a colposcopy and two biopsies. Was all a bit scary because the colposcope was in the theatre and I had to be admitted to the hospital.

I have to say the consultant was really nice (the biopsies made my eyes water) and the whole process was over in less than half an hour.

When I came out the consultant asked if I wanted to see the pictures.....why did I say yes?????? So now I'm looking at pictures of my cervix (4 in total). The first one showed a fairly pink looking outline with a very red bit in the centre and what can only be described as white bits that look like mouth ulcers.

The consultant said 'I can't see anything untoward but I'll be looking to loop that part' (pointing to the red mouth ulcer section).

I have an appointment in two weeks for results. Since the appointment I have been totally irrational. I'm normally quite calm and laid back but this has me in a real state. I'm worrying so much and googling pictures of cervix's (heaven only  knows what my IT department think I'm up to!).

Can someone please help me with what might happen next? I have read that borderline changes normally don't require any treatment. So why has he said he will use remove cells? Do you think that the results aren't borderline and I have something else going on?

I had discharge for a few days following the biopsies and now seem okay. What about sexual contact with my partner? Should I refrain? What about the HPV?