Borderline changes and HPV+, referral for colposcopy. Scared :(

Hello - I'm a newbie and I have just been exploring the site and forum a bit.

I feel I am being a bit rude in just starting a new thread without ever having contributed, but I am very new to all this! I do apologise if it is poor forum etiquette!

iI had my first smear at the age of 26 which came back normal, no abnormalitys detected. I have just had my second aged 30 and it has come back as showing borderline changes with evidence of high-risk HPV infection. I know it's not the end of the world, and actually quite common, but I still feel quite unhappy. It's the HPV more than anything, as I know that is much riskier than just having borderline/mild changes. It's hard not to feel anxious.

My main anxiety is actually about the colposcopy itself because I am so squeamish and so anxious when it comes to medical things. EVen going into a hospital to accompany someone else has me feeling faint and sick. My smear was done by a lovely, thoughtful nurse but I was still very panicky even though on a rational level I had no problem with the smear happening: I was not afraid, as such. After it was done I had to lie back down because I was close to fainting or vomiting which in themselves make me very scared.