What do you know about having abdominal hysterectomy under local anesthesia?

Found lump in lower abdominal area last week. Saw my PCP same day. Have had ultrasound done, because ct scan takes long prep time for me. PCP recommends oncology team reconsider hysterectomy now. (It was not physically possible at time of diagnosis.)

Can not have GA due to allergic reactions. I don't wake up. So called friend who recently had hysterectomy and she said she was given the option of Local, instead of GA. I contact Oncologists tomorrow.

Has anyone any knowledge or experience with Local Anesthetic during abdominal hysterectomy. Maybe much like a cesarean birth?

Now I could use a hug, Katie

Hi katie Hunni I have no experience with a hysterectomy however I did have a c section whilst I was awake I had an epidural, couldn't feel anything other than a bit of tug and pulling no pain during the procedure. Not sure how much my experience will help but thought I would share with you just incase. Good luck Hunni and take care.

sending you a massive hug!! 

Dominique

xxxxx

Thank you, Dominique. I am really working on 'breathing' and believing that it will work out for my best good. Yes, I am scared. Telling myself it is only natural and best to acknowledge it for mental and physical health. Can not even phone my oncologists for 2 more hours. (PCP called at closing time yesterday and oncologist office had just gone to answering service and on-call Dr, when I phoned. PCP wants me to notify the rest of team so they will start taking action without having to take the time to figure out where my head is.)