Starting radiotherapy soon - nervous

Hello,

I've been lurking for a while reading posts, and they have been very helpful to me so far. I decided I would post because it's good to share experiences.

I am 29 and am getting married in February next year. I last had a smear in 2012 and was all clear. In May I started bleeding a little and went to get a smear, they said they couldn't do one because there was a growth. Very scary, I cried as soon as I was out of the doctors. I was soon given a hospital appointment but not before I did a triathlon that I had been training for for many months - I almost didn't do it, but felt ok and really wanted to. It went well and I'm glad I did it! 

I had a biopsy at the hospital and they told me it was very unlikely to be cancer due to my age. Then went on holiday with my family while I waited for the results. When I came back they told me it was cancer, and I cried a lot... I went for an MRI (I was petrified because I hate needles and I fainted after the cannular), but found the MRI fine. 

I was diagnosed with stage 1B1 adenocarcinoma - which means the cancer had started at the top of the cervix- and that was why it probably hadn't been seen in 2012. They also told me it was high grade - so it grows rapidly. After that they booked me in for surgery 2 weeks later - a radical hysterectomy. Luckily I have never been broody and neither has my fiance, so we weren't too worried about the fertility issue, I was mainly worried about it having spread to the lymph nodes, but luckily it hadn't. After an 8 hour surgery there was quite a long recovery time, it was hard and quite upsetting at times, especially when I'd done a triathlon a few weeks before, and here I was unable to get out of bed. 

The surgery went ok, but the tumour was bigger than they had expected - bigger than 4cm, so the cancer was re-staged to be 2A2, I think if they had known that before they would have gone straight to radiotherapy without the surgery.