Really needing some advice :(

Hi all,
I apologise in advance as I know this is probably the wrong forum for me to post in, but at the same time I just can’t seem to find any other forums suitable.

I’ve been bleeding after sex for nearly 3 years now. It isn’t every time and the blood is nearly always old blood (a brown/light tan colour) I then continue to have brown discharge in small amounts for the next week or so after (The rest of the time my discharge is normal)

I’ve always had clear smears (im 33), my last one being a year ago where I was hpv negative.
I’ve had more pelvic examinations, swabs and ultrasounds to last me a lifetime.
I even had a CT scan with contrast which showed nothing but a 2mm cyst in top of womb.
I’ve seen and spoke to so many doctors who have all said different things from low estrogen, hormonal, its womb related because of the colour, my naturally low body weight etc.
I had roughly 4 months of no bleeding but then this morning it happened again, this light brownish coloured blood when I wiped after.

I feel like my mental health is on the floor at the moment and it’s such an effort now to keep chasing things.

Sorry, I don’t want to sound dramatic but I never even knew bleeding after sex was a sign of anything sinister until just over a year ago. This completely threw me into total panic and feeling stupid I’d never reported it before.

1 Like

Hi zara. I am no expert but I hope I can help to put your mind at ease a little. Given that you have already had a CT scan, you can rule out cancer, as it is used for cancer staging, and would definitely have picked it up if it was there.
Has your doctor ever spoken to you about endometriosis? It doesn’t show up on scans, and the only true way to diagnose it is with laparoscopy. It can cause abnormal bleeding, including after sex. It can cause a whole load of symptoms, few symptoms, or none at all. It’s something you should definitely talk to your gynaecologist about.