Hysterectomy for CIN II and CGIN

Hello,

It's my first time posting here. I was recently diagnosed with CIN II and CGIN and advised to have a hysterectomy since the biopsy didnt find clear margins but there was no evidence of cancer. My doctor advises a hysterectomy to be sure to eliminate the risk. I was offered another LLETZ but he said as they will take more of the cervix there is a risk of bleeding and that smears may not be that accurate since there wil be a lot of scar tissue. I have taken the holiday to think about it. As I am 43 and have two beautiful children already, i am leaning towards the surgery. But reading other stories on here and elsewhere I am extremely nervous of the op, the recovery and of not feeling the same again! Prolapse risk scares me as does a different sex life. My husband is very supportive but it seems like a radical step. Still better this than having to deal with another LLETZ and then have the op anyway, or deal with a cancer diagnosis at a later stage.

The op is set for Jan 29 but I can still change my mind he says. i'm working hard to finish all my outstanding work before planning for two full weeks off and then a slow return to work - i work for myself and at home anyway so this is possible. 

I'd love to hear from anyone who has been, or who is in, my position, and what you decided and how you coped? x

Hi Victoria,