Confused about biopsy 'result'

Hi everyone,

My background is as follows:

March 2013 - first smear test (private)- normal

March 2014 - smear test - abnomal (mild dyskariosis and HPV). Referred for colposcopy.

April 2014 - colposcopy in Australia (was travelling). Biopsy showed CIN1. Advised to wait and see.

March 2015 - smear test - normal

March 2016 - smear test - normal

October 2017 - colposcopy due to abnormal bleeding - normal (found my cervic was slightly inverted)

March 2018 - smear test - normal

March 2019 - smear test - abnormal (mild dyskariosis and high risk HPV). Referred for colposcopy.

July 2019 - colposcopy (doctor could see some low grade abormal cells - he thought they'd be CIN1). Biopsy taken.

Following my recent colposcopy, I have received a letter saying that they have found no evidence of malignancy, but want to discuss the smear/biopsy slides at the next multidisciplinary team meeting, in order to make a recommendation as to follow up. I am quite confused by this 'result' as the letter does not say whether my cells are CIN1 or CIN2 etc. I'm also concerned about why I've been referred to an MDT and starting to panic!

Hi 

Its possible that they want to discuss due to persistent changes, however it seems that your changes have been low grade.

They may have found CGIN which is a precancerous glandular change? The fact they have found no malignancy is brilliant!

Its really speculation until you speak to your doctors. Have you got a date to go in? The waiting and not knowing is the worst.

Thinking of you xxxxx

Thank you so much for replying! Would it have said in my letter that I had CGIN?

No I don't have a date to go in, they said they will be in touch with an appointment date. I'm guessing if I need an appointment I'm not just CIN1? 

Hope everything goes well for you x

Hi 

I have to say I’m not sure whether they would’ve put CGIN in the letter seeing as they haven’t detailed anything else.