Colposcopy and Biopsy

Hello everyone

I am new to this, the nurse at the hospital recommended this site to me.

I had my first smear 3 weeks ago, within 3 days i had my results back. I was HPV positive and had severe dyskaryosis. My anxiety really kicked in as the results sound terrifying, i didnt know what these results meant. 

The hospital booked me for a colposcopy and biopsy if needed, the days leading up to my appointment were full of panic, i didnt know what to expect. Appointment day. I never handle these situations well, i was terrified, i expressed my feelings to the nurses and they were all absaloutely amazing. One nurse even held my hand, i did end up having a biopsy but it wasnt half as bad as i thought i think this was more to do with how amazing the nurses were. Now i have to wait 3-6 weeks for my results.

I am here if anyone would like to ask me any questions or even someone to talk to, i know this can be very worrying, but by the looks of it there is some amazing women out there that make these experiences that little bit easier for us. 

I also think its very important to stress how important having a smear is.

Hi Zoe95

I felt the same as you when i went for my appointment. I suffer terribly with anxiety and to have to go to an appointment on my own (wouldn't allow anyone with me because of the pandemic) was really difficult for me but i knew the importance of getting it done. 

This was my second colopscopy where again they took biopsies. It took 6 weeks for my results to come back which I actually recieved today. I need further treatment as they came back CIN3. I agree with you also on how lovely the nurses are. A doctor performed my biopsies and I had two nurses either side of me trying to distract me by talking about various things. They could see how anxious I was. 

I hope your not kept waiting too long for your results. Sending you best wishes x

Hello