CIN 1 to CIN 2 within 2 months

Hi all,

I’m new to this and i’m hoping to get some feedback from what others have experienced.

I’m 32 and all of my previous smears have all come back normal. I got my re-call letter at the end of 2020 and ended up holding off until May this year to have my smear done (with covid and generally just wanting to put the dreaded smear test off).

I then got a call from my GP in July to say my smear came back to say I was HPV positive, with abnormal cells detected at CIN 1 stage. As someone who always had normal smears this really worried me. I have been single for many years (too embarassing to say how long!) But i had 3 sexual partners between my previous smear in 2017 and the abnormal one this year so i’m concerned I have had the HPV in my system for longer than the general 2 years they say it’s meant to take for your body to fight it off itself (not to mention the guilt and regret of these sexual encounters that led to nothing.

So i went for colposcopy at the end of July and had a biopsy taken and the consultant had a look and didn’'t feel there was anything he was overly concerned about. I rang a few times to enquire about results & was told they are 2 months behind (setting in more panic!) And then I rang today and was told they are bringing me back in a couple of weeks for another colposcopy appointment and that the biopsy showed that the CIN 1 has progressed to CIN 2 (high grade). I was really trying to listen to others and be positive but I’ve been in tears most of today and just wondered if anyone has had a similiar experience and what was your outcome?