Cervical biopsy

Good evening, 

I am just looking for a bit of reassurance more than anything. I had my second smear test last month and got a letter saying I had high grade (moderate) dyskaryosis. I was invited for a colposcopy which I went for yesterday. I found the whole experience very rushed and couldn’t ask the questions I wanted to. They took a biopsy and said the results would take about 4 weeks. I wanted to ask why they couldn’t do any treatment for the abnormal cells whilst I was in for the colposcopy. I am now paranoid that having a biopsy means it’s cancer? My first smear test 3 years ago came back clear so I am hoping it’s just abnormal cells that are maybe precancerous and just need removing.  

Thanks,

Amy x 

Hi Amy,

I can't fully understand why as I'm still kinda new to it all too and I had my first biopsy in Australia in August last last year. From what I understand and my previous experience is my gyne there just sent off my biopsy to see if any further action would be needed. It turns out from those results it's was some kind of benign tissue. 

I was told to follow up with another smear test 6 months later and was referred for another colposcopy last week due to high risk moderate dysklarosis. She performed the LLETZ procedure there and then and was super helpful and it was over and done with. I asked a million questions and one so I'm always happy to try and share what I know if you like. 

My experience is totally different to yours (yet similar) but I would assume it's because they wouldn't want to offer you treatment if it isn't totally necessary. 

It's so much easier said than done but I'd just try and remain as positive as possible for your biospy results to come back :) 

Let me know how you get on with your results xox

Hi