New here...biopsy results??

Hi everyone :) I'm new to this.

I'm 25 years old and had my first smear test in January this year.

I have been having unusual vaginal bleeding for about 6 months now along with pelvic pain.

My results came back with high grade dyskaryosis.

I went for a colposcopy a week ago where they did loop excision treatment and took a biopsy from my cervix. 

Apparently results come back in a couple of weeks but I was wondering how long people waited for theirs and also would they give you bad news in a letter or call you instead?

Thanks. 

Please try not to panic, I know it is soo hard I am going to tell you my story to try and put your mind at ease abit because if your anything like I was ( a mess not knowing,  not sleeping at night & checking the post everyday for results was religious).

I am 24 went for my first ever smear at beginning of Jan this year I was worried prior to this because I use to get alot pain/ blood after sex and bleed inbertween  periods.

Got my results back through the post, Hpv found high grade severe dyskaryosis 

(at this point I was hysterical thinking the worst I have cancer I have 2 kids what am I going to do if anything happens to me etc etc..)

Anyway I got referred to colposcopy on the 28th Jan To remove all pre- cancerous cells from my cervix

Had lltez treatment and biopsy taken they said they would write to me in 3 weeks with results

2 weeks later got nasty infection back to the doctors to get treatment, they were very reassuring saying that they were only removing pre cancerous cells and that cancer can take  a long time to form ( but then again I was thinking hang on this is my first smear how long have I had this?!)