Awaiting LLETZ after initial colposcopy

I’m 31 and had my regular smear three weeks ago - previous smears have all been normal. On Weds (two weeks after the smear) I had to have colposcopy due to severe/high grade dyskaryosis. The consultant took a biopsy which I’m waiting for the results from (hopefully back tomorrow), but he said due to large size of the affected area I will definitely need LLETZ regardless of the results. I’m booked in for this Friday to have LLETZ, under GA given the size of the affected area. I’m pretty terrified about it all. I’m a vet and I think sometimes some medical knowledge is a bad thing as I’m running through all possible complications and outcomes. Hopefully my biopsy and LLETZ will just show CIN but I know in an animal I could never guarantee not cancer just from a small sample like a smear… Likewise the consultant hasn’t said anything either way, just that a large area is abnormal. Work have been very good about me taking time off etc, but I’m finding it so difficult to concentrate with this hanging over me, and I’m not in a job where I can make mistakes.

What’s upset me almost even more is that we have been trying for a baby forever and are almost at the stage of being referred to see why it hasn’t happened. The consultant has said we should stop trying until a follow up colposcopy in several months has confirmed treatment has been successful. I’ll be 32 by then and my husband nearly 40. All my friends have children and I feel so left out (I know that sounds really silly), and now this has happened I feel even more removed from my friends who’ve never had anything similar - I don’t really feel I have anyone to talk to about it. I know that following LLETZ there can be a risk of future pregnancies not being carried to term. Just wondered how other people have got on in this respect? Will LLETZ affect my rubbish fertility even further?

Hi LilyB