1st smear test/colposcopy worries

Hello. Hoping someone can share their similar experiences and hopefully positivity…

First smear test (almost 25) and it is high HPV+ and CIN1. I am now waiting for my colposcopy. What difference is this going to show? Can the CIN category differ from smear test result, if so, why? (Petrified to think it could be worse!)

A few months into having a Mirena coil I experienced pain and bleeding during sex. The coil was surgically removed as it displaced yet I still have pain during sex months later. So I was not shocked to see an abnormal test result as I feel something isn’t right. I’m now absolutely petrified to have any local anaesthetic, biopsies or treatment from previous experience getting a Mirena coil painfully inserted and the experience ever since.

Anyone else in/was in a similar position?

1 Like

Hi Anna, I have had some experience with this as I had a smear come back positive for HPV and showing low grade changes when I was 32. I was sent to colposcopy and was terrified the cell changes would turn out to be worse on closer inspection. Even waiting for the biopsy results after colposcopy made me really nervous. In the end though that was all that was there, CIN 1. I had the same results four years in a row (always checked at colposcopy and with biopsy every time) before testing negative for HPV and going back onto the 3 year screening schedule. Last year I went for the follow up (I’m now 41) and annoyingly the virus is back, and I have cell changes, but due to some frustrating circumstances I still don’t have all the information about my results.