What happens after lletz?

Hello there

Newbie here.. been reading lots of posts in the forum, which have been so helpful but just looking for a bit of reassurance I suppose.

So, my story is that I'm 36 and up until 15 days ago had never had a smear test. Silly I know. So on the 26th Jan i braved the surgery and had one done at the insistence of my husband. on Monday 5th feb I received a call from the GP surgery to tell me some abnormalities had been found and I would receive a letter from the hospital with further information. Sure enough the next day I did receive a letter to tell me I tested positive for HPV and that I had high grade (severe) dyakaryosis. I had no idea what this meant! 

I called the hospital as per the letter to make an appointment for a colposcopy, and they gave me an appointment for two days later. It all seemed very rushed. So I went to hospital, met with a lovely nurse and doctor who were very blunt (which I preferred) and told me that the cells were precancerous and would need to be removed at that appointment. They explained that I had been silly not To have been tested prior To that..but To be honest I can't recall much of what else was said.. which is where my concern is. I started off with a normal week and now here I was having this removal procedure - less than 2 weeks after my smear test. I assume because of never had a test they had no idea how long the cells had been abnormal and therefore the best thing to do was take them away.

However because I was completely taken aback all I can think is if that's it, am I in the clear or is there a chance that i may have to go back? Can the doctor doing the procedure be certain of the cells being precancerous and that that the treatment has worked or do they test the cells anyway?? The way the appointment ended it seemed as though it was 'bye, see you in 6 months!' So have no idea what to expect. Like I said I feel like this whole week has been a whirlwind! 

Any advice is appreciated x