Lymph node removal

Hi I’m new to this but was wondering if anyone has been given the option of having their lymph nodes removed as all I can see on here is people being told they had to have them removed I found out I had cc in August have had cone biopsy and was told I had stage 1a2 now I’ve been given the option of having my lymph nodes removed my consultant said if I was one stage higher if have no option and he would just remove them anyway but he has given me a choice to say yes or no I have said yes and waiting for the op but I think I have changed my mind i am so scared of lymphodema as I’m only 27 I know it’s not nice at any age but I’m a real worrier! Is anyone on here that is stage 1a2 and found that it had spread to the lymph nodes? He told me that it was only a 5 % chance of it being in my lymph nodes so I’m really considering not having them removed anyone that can give me their experience would really help xx

1 Like

Hi sweet, I am same stage as you 1a2, I was also given the option and decided to have them removed, they remove them at the same time as my hysterectomy. I am now at home 2 days post op.

i was also told exactly the same re if a stage higher they would def be taken, and told 5-8% chance cancer had spread. My reasoning was that the chance of me having cervical cancer was far less than 8% and it happened, therefore it was perfectly possible. Also the consultant said if it had spread and they didn't remove them then my chances of survival would be minuscule. I gave 3 children and they have been through enough. 

Its a no brainier to me, but I understand everyone is different xx Huge hugs xx