Information about HPV persistence

Hi everyone, I will start this by saying I am not a scientist. this is the opinion/information finding of someone who is not a professional but I wanted to share some information I found about HPV persistence when you receive a positive result with no abnormal cells
Moderators please delete this if this sort of discussion is not allowed.

I found this study:

https://www.researchgate.net/publication/291341045_Human_Papillomavirus_Assays_and_Cytology_in_Primary_Cervical_Screening_of_Women_Aged_30_Years_and_Above

It uses screening information from a pilot done in Denmark, which likely has similar HPV rates to the UK and is focused on women 30+ who are likely to be the most worried group about clearing HPV.

In the study they tested different types of HPV tests. Most of the tests are DNA tests. These can pick up both temporary and persistent infections. The Aptima test is an RNA test. This is more likely to detect persistent infections.

I’m going to focus on Aptima for this post as these results are the ones for infections most likely to persist.

Table 3 in the study has the data but basically:
200 women were Aptima positive but with normal cytology at baseline
After 1.5 years they asked them to come back
65 did, 33% of the 200 originals

Of those 65, the table states that 24 had a persistent infection (33%) that means about 2/3rds of women were able to surpress their infection, reducing their risk of abnormal cells.

So ladies, there is hope! Stay positive!
If you want to, investigate supplements. Practice mindfulness if you can, discuss how you feel with all the wonderful people on this forum :slight_smile:

Hey. i have 2 year HPV+ no abnormal cells
Do you?
Which supplements / vitamins will you be taking?
Xx

Hi Rere
I’ll send you a private message about testing if that’s okay?