Having cervical cancer twice (not recurrence)-treatment by exenteration

Hi all,

I am new to Jo's Trust.

I think I may be in an unusual situation but am interested in finding out if there are others in the same boat.

I had cervical cancer in 1997 at the age of 34. At that time I was diagnosed with an aggressive glassy cell adenocarcinoma which had metastasised into 5 lymph nodes.

I was successfully treated with Werteim's hysterectomy, chemo and RT.

Twenty years later I had bleeding and have been under investigation again.

I have now been diagnosed with cervical cancer again! However, it's not a recurrence of my previous adenocarcinoma but a brand new squamous cell ca which has developed in the scar tissue.

Because I have had all the treatments before, seemingly the only treatment left open to me is pelvic exenteration. However, my care this time around has been very sluggish (another story!) and I have not had the opportunity to discuss this with anyone yet.

So is there anyone else out there that has had  twoi types of cervical cancer.

Of note also is that I have the BRCA2 gene and have had a double mastectomy for that.  

Cheers,

Karen