Does the depo shot interfere with smear results?

Hello everyone

ive been reading this forum for a while now and couldn't quite find what I was looking for. So my background is I've been having abnormal smears for the past 2 and a half years (I'm 28) I've had several calposcopys and they have always shown either insufficent result or slight changes. As this kept reappearing I had lletz treatment back in March. The results from this came back negative but was told to have a smear in 6 months. 2 weeks ago I had my smear and the doctor said she thought everything would come back ok. I've had my results and have low frade dykasosis and hpv. I've had hpv before then it cleared and now I have it again! I have been doing lots of research on the net (as you do but not alwAys great!) and I've seen some people complaining that the depo shot can interfere with your results! I've been on the depo for the past 3 years. I am beginning to wonder if this may be affecting my smear? So many of my results have been sent to their multi disciplinary meetings as they could never determine my borderline resulTS. Apart from my smear. I have been happy on the depo and it has stopped my periods completely. Which has got me thinking, as my body thinks I'm constantly pregnant through having no periods, could this be messing up my sMears? U smear results from 2 weeks ago has referred me for yet another calposcopy which I have no date for yet. It would be interesting to hear if anyone else has had trouble with their smeare whilst on the depo. Thanks x

Hello,

I totally understand how it feels having abnormal results more than once, and the urge to research. As you say, sometimes it's not always helpful but something many of us have done all the same, so I can understand that too.