CIN 3 Smear result - Worried waiting for colposcopy

Hi,

A month ago I received my cervical smear test result as abnormal - CIN 3 / HSIL. My colposcopy appointment was for four weeks later (this week) but has just been cancelled due to the doctor being unavailable at the last minute. The clinic were not able to give me any idea of when a new appointment would be available, but they indicated it might be some time.

Is that normal to have a long wait to get a colposcopy after a CIN 3 smear result? I’m also not sure if a smear is as conclusive as a biopsy? I have never had an abnormal result before (smears every 3 years) but I’m worried as I know that CIN 3 is the more severe of the cell changes and I’m 32 years old so I know it is likely I will need some kind of treatment to remove them. I just feel a bit lost and not really sure what to expect.

Thanks

Hi Isobel,

I have CIN3 and my GP said in my area (Leeds) they will see CIN3 patients within 2 weeks. I’m only new to all of this but I would push for an appointment or if possible to use a different hospital. But also, don’t panic as it is a slow progression for the cells too. Keep calling and pushing to be seen x

Thanks so much for replying.

I’m going to leave it a day or two and then will ring the gynaecology hospital department again to see if anything has changed. I think you are right that I need to keep pushing because they say 4 weeks maximum to be seen for a CIN3 result and it has been over that now and when I rang today there is still no appointment scheduled for me to be seen. It is hard not to feel like I’m making a fuss, but I don’t have much of a frame of reference for wait times except other peoples experiences and my own research, most people don’t seem to wait this long.

I hope everything goes well for you, if you feel like sharing your CIN3 / colposcopy experience I would be interested to hear, but if not thank you for just responding to my comment x

Hi Isobel,