Biopsy side effects

Hi everyone,

This is my first time ever posting in a forum but I just want to thank everyone who posts here for keeping me calm and positive over the last two weeks by sharing their experiences. I apologise in advance for the long post.

Two weeks ago I went to my GP for abnormal bleeding, it has been happening for about two months but was particularly heavy this day after sex which made me go the GP. After examining me, GP sent me straight to the A&E to be on the safe side as she said she couldn't see my cervix as there was too much blood. In A&E I was examined and the dr called in the consultant who told me they'd found a mass on my cervix and were sending me for an urgent colposcopy which was performed last week. At the colposcopy the midwife again called in a consultant who performed a 'larger than normal' biopsy. Midwife told me it was larger than normal as instead of the usual rules of no sex, no baths, no swimming etc for 2-5 days the consultant had said none of the above for 3-4 weeks.

I've stupidly never had a smear before, suppose always thought itd never be me, know that sounds stupid now and trust me I've learned my lesson on how important they really are so will never miss another.

Anyways I was told I'd have the biopsy results in 10 days which again is unusual for Ireland as it's usually 4-6 weeks. Despite putting on a brave face for my husband and boss (only people who know as my boss drove me to a&e) I'm scared what the results will be especially given the way the medical professionals seem to be treating it as urgent but I am trying to look at the bright side that at least now I'm in the system and whatever the outcome of the results at least it will be treated.