Absolutely petrified of getting a smear

Hi all, 

I’m 27 and I’ve been putting off my smear for two years because I am absolutely petrified of going. They’ve stopped sending me letters now because I keep ignoring them, but it’s something that plays on my mind a lot. I suffer with anxiety anyway but for some reason this pushes me over the edge, and I can’t even think about the procedure without crying. I’m scared of making the phone call to book it, I’m scared of getting undressed, I’m scared it’s going to hurt or it’ll take ages, I’m scared I’m going to cry, and I’m scared of waiting for the results afterwards. I work within the NHS and I KNOW how important cervical screening is, but I just cannot get my brain to start thinking rationally and just do it. I’ve only had sex twice in my life with one person, I’m a non smoker, my periods are regular and pretty much pain free, I have no family history of cervical cancer, so from what I’ve read I think I’m low risk but I know it’s still important to go. I can’t stop thinking about how irresponsible I’m being by not going, but I don’t know how to rationalise with my own brain. 

Any tips or advice on just getting over yourself and doing it would be greatly appreciated <3