Smear test post treatment

I've been invited for a smear test by my GP. From what I've read on here, I don't need to have one as the results will be inconclusive due to treatment (to be honest, previous smears didnt pick my cancer up anyway). I've spoken to the GP today as when i phoned up to cancel the request the receptionist was adamant that i needed to have one so she made me a telephone consultation with the GP. The GP was so unsure of the situation. I explained everything to her and she very reluctantly took me off the list for smears. It's made me really doubt myself. I no longer go for checks as I don't get scans or even internals so the consultant agreed to discharge me on the provision that I go back if there was any problems. 

No real reason for my post - I just wanted to get it off my chest!

Out of interest though, had anyone had a smear test post chemorads?

Hey lovely, I have no personal experience other than my consultant said during one of my many meetings with him that I'll never have a smear again as the results would be inconclusive due to treatment, I will no doubt be having a similar conversation with my doctors surgery at some point in the future. 
much love xxx 

Hi Philleepa

I get a smear test every time I go for my checkups. They call it a vault smear here in the U.S. I had a hysterectomy and chemo rads but no brachytherapy when I had my treatment which was almost three years ago ,I go for my check up March the 9th and I will have a vault smear then. My doctor said I will always get one. I hope this helps some for you.

I had a smear test post treatment, and my doctor said he will continue to do them. He said it's not going to come back perfect but he'll know what he's looking for. So kind of confusing, but I guess doctors do things differently everywhere. I'm from the U.S

Hello my lovely Friend