CGIN Information!

Hi everyone

I am new to this, posted a few questions but also read a lot of helpful stories that have really reassured me.

So for those that haven’t read my previous posts I had my 2nd routine smear on 17th sept all went ok and didn’t think anything of it as my first one came back fine. 30th September I received a letter referring me to a colposcopy as there were some abnormal cell found. 12th oct came and I had my colposcopy appointment. The consultant sat me down and told me that they found high grade severe abnormal cells and that they would like to remove them today via lletz - this was before she even had a look! Of course I agreed and went ahead with the treatment which was quite painful. The consultant then told me that I would hear back in 4-6weeks.

Today I received a letter from my consultant to my doctor explaining what she found and it detailed that it is CGIN and it was a high grade lesion.

Can anyone provide me with any information or advice/experience with this? Your support would be really appreciated!

Shireen x

Hi shireen

maybe i can help clarify this a bit better. Your colposcopy dr has sent a written account of what she removed via lletz. Cgin is the type of cells that line the inside of the cervix where CIN is the cells that line the outside of the cervix. What she removed was an area that had a thick density which is why it is called high grade. Now you will play the waiting game and see if they get clear margins from the tissue they removed. If the cells on the edges of the tissue are normal then you are in the clear and will be monitored if not you will be offered more treatment. 

Hope that helps you a bit. Try not to worry a lletz is an effective treatment it has a 90-95% rate of rem all bad cells. 

stay busy and don't think too much!