Returning to work after laparoscopic hysterectomy

I’m having a laparoscopic hysterectomy on April 12th. When did you return to work following your surgery?

I know that everyone has different types of jobs with different physical workloads, but I want to get a general idea. I can have up to 6 weeks off, and I have plenty of general leave so that I’ll be paid (luckily!). Thanks for your guidance and advice.

Hiya

I'm coming up to 4 weeks post RH. I dont actually have a job at the moment as I was a student when diagnosed, but i feel comfortable applying for jobs now as I think I will be fine in a week or so as long as there is no heavy lifting involved. I do get terribly tired if I spend the day up and about but im sure that will improve by 6 weeks post op.

xx

I went back to work 4 weeks post RH (ovaries left) with lymph nodes done laparoscopically. Luckily my boss was very flexible with me with a ‘phased return’ and basically sent home if I looked drained/tired. I still get tired now, but a little power nap before school runs allows me to recharge :)

All the best with yours xx

Hi

I went back to work 6 weeks post op, would have gone back maybe after 5 weeks as I'm office based. I'm out the house for 12 hours a days so was a bit wary. I went back on a phased return for the first two weeks so did Mon - Wed. I'm not normally a tired person, but come 5am on Wednesday I was shattered. Id say the tiredness lasted until 8 weeks post op. The main thing is to listen to your body and dont overdo it xx

May I ask what stage cancer you were to get laparoscopic?;I have some doctors recommending open abdominal and others
saying laparoscopic is safe. I had 1a2 removed by cone biopsy but one maybe wasnt clear so may have some residual cancer there still. Just trying to get a feel for what others are getting and how it went for them. Thank you so much!

May I ask what stage cancer you were to get laparoscopic? I have some doctors recommending open abdominal and others