Worried newbie with questions

Hi everyone.

I am new to this but have a few questions regarding my colposcopy.....

Following my smear I was sent a letter saying abnormal cells were found and i needed an urgent referral for colposcopy.

Had my colp on Tuesday which I found very painful (especially the biopsy under local).

My consultant has not said anything apart from the fact that the nurse noticed something during my smear and my results had come back abnormal.

He did not say anything about the liquid test, whether anything showed up. Can I assume it did which is why I needed a biopsy? Also he said that he needed to go higher up which is where the biopsy was taken from.

I  was also taken a bit aback after being told the biopsy could lead to early labour and late miscarriage (I'm not pregnant currently and have no children).

Did anybody else have a colp and biopsy done without being told anything?

I did ask what he discovered and he said to wait for the results as he didnt want to guess.

Sorry if this is really trivial - I know some of you are going through an awful lot - I just dont really know what to expect or why I have ended up here!

Being told nothing is making me more anxious. Could I be panicking over nothing and everything could come back clear?

Hello sweetheart,