Worried about passing on high risk HPV and partner getting cancer

Hi, I’m very new to this. Had recent colposcopy and biopsy showed CIN2. I have now had LLETZ procedure and hope results come back ok; I really hope that HPV will also disappear!!
5 years ago I separated from my husband. I have been with one partner since then. I have had only 3 sexual partners in my life. At 47, having finally come to terms with the ending of my marriage and all the associated traumas, I finally felt ready, after 5 years to thinks about a relationship again (it has not been high on my list of priorities). I go for a routine smear and they detect HPV and I therefore declared myself never to have a relationship again, at least until I clear the virus (if I can!) I am so sad that this is the case but I have heard so many times now, once I have recovered from colposcopy, to just forge ahead with a relationship and not even think about the HPV - to me this seems irresponsible. I obviously have high risk HPV and I would be so worried about passing this on to a partner and them potentially ending up with cancer, that I would have caused! Any advice would be very welcomed, thank you xx

Harmony,

There are a number of threads on here about HPV and relationships - please look at some of these, and the information pages on Jo’s trust. If your partner does not have a cervix they will not get cancer from HPV. There is a lot on the Trust about HPV and relationships. X

4 Likes

Hi harmony,

HPV is extremely common, it shouldn’t stop you for having a relationship. I remember when I was diagnosed with CC my partner had a chat with the GP regarding the vaccine etc and to get some information regarding HPV. The GP told him that it is assumed that all guys have it. If you feel better you can discuss it with you partner or to get the vaccine but it shouldn’t stop you for having a relationship!

Maria xxx

1 Like