Worried about everything

Right. Here goes.

I'm not very good at speaking of my feelings, nor discussing my lady-parts. So here goes.

I've been through the LLETZ procedure before, and I really didn't think it was that bad. What's far worse is all the waiting. They make you wait weeks and months for results or your procedure date. So naturally, I thought of and worried about everything possible. Every day I swung between panicking about dying of cancer and making peace with it- even planning my funeral with my friends. Of course as sweet as they were, most of them are lads, and they didn't really understand. I felt lonely. I felt like there was a big C-monster following me everywhere, and eventually it would catch up with me.

Even when you've not actually been diagnosed with cancer, and it's just CIN, and you're going through a pretty routine and non-painful procedure, the C-word follows you everywhere. It's like those nightmares where you're running away from something down a never ending corridoor, and the end just gets further and further away.

As a Researcher by trade, I read everything, and the more I learn the more information I have to process and the more it worries me- then the more questions I have. What if this keeps happening? What if I need a hysterectomy? What if I get cancer, and is it inevitable I get cancer with recurring CIN3?  What if I get really sick and have to move back to my parent's house 6hrs away, away from my partners and friends? Will this be it for my career; I was just beginning. I had amazing plans, I wanted to help people...

So many questions swimming through my head, but there's never anything or anyone to sit down and speak with me. My gyno is a cold lady, and I can't talk to her. But maybe that's just what happens to people when they've seen it all, and a raving, dramatic lunatic sits down asking them about the research paper they wrote on CIN 10yrs ago.