When can you get back to being you? (children mentioned)

hi I’m new to this. I’ve recently had a total hysterectomy due to having stage 1a2 cervical cancer. I seem to be healing well. Although I haven’t had any medical professionals tell me this, I am starting to feel more able to do most normal day to day things again. I seem to ohave stopped bleeding today too which I am taking as a good sign. Its only 3 weeks this week since my op but I’m not sure when I can get back to normal life. When can I pick my children up? Have a dance? Have sex? Etc. I don’t want to damage myself or anything but I’m not sure when I should even try anything. im feeling a little anxious about it all really.xx

Hi hun,

I've just come across your post, as I dont post on here often.  I'm 10 months post op - and still have good days and bad days.  physically i healed after about 6 - weeks.  i was back at the gym within 8 weeks!  Not lifting any weights - but gentle walking...etc and swimming.  I didnt have small children - my son was 9 at the time of my op - so can't really say when you can pick your children up.  mentally though - i'm still struggling.  I still dont feel like "me".  I dont think we can go back to "normal" or the way I was before.  But each day is getting easier.  with regards to sex - i was so scared and I think i waited until i was about 8 - 9 weeks post op, certainly at least 6 weeks *thats what they recommend).  it's your body - so you know in yourself when you feel ready.  i would say at least 6 weeks before picking up your children hun.  Although it looks good from the outside - internally theres lots more going on.

Hope you recover quickly xxxx

Hello lovely,