Warty Features

Hi, my smear came back with boarder line changes and high risk HPV (not 16 or 18) I was sent for a colposcopy and biopsies were taken, but she mentioned 'warty features'? I stupiidly didn't ask what this ment while there can anybody explain? I maybe sound naive but I thought warts were an STD i've had a full STD screen which was clear so a bit confussed?

Thanks x

Hi,

Dont quote me as I'm quite new to all this aswel but from what iv read warts are caused by a HPV virus. Not a clue what strain though sorry. HPV isn't tested for during a STD check as pretty much all of us will come into contact with it at some pointy. Iv found the staff at colposcopy very helpful so maybe give the person you saw a ring and just go over it with her. I'm sure they'll be happy to help with any questions. Sorry I'm not much use to you but hopefully somebody who knows more may be intouch shortly.

xxxx

Hi Kel

After my biopsy showed "evidence of HPV damage" I rang my STD clinic and asked if I could be tested to see whether I still had active wart virus. I didn't want to pass on a potentially life threatening virus to any one else and so I put relationships on hold.  The clinic told me they don't offer such a test.  It's not part of their repertoire.  Yes, the HPV virus is sexually transmitted for the most part, and so could well be called an STD, but it's not included in the list of "usual suspects" Syphilis, gonorrhoea, HIV, Chlamydia etc.   Most strains don't have the potential to cause cancer,  Obvious warts can be treated, but preventing spread of the virus - not easy.