Visual abnormalities

Hi Everyone,
I’m 26 and had a prolonged bleed earlier this month (i.e. super period). I saw a locum doctor at my GP’s who wasn’t very helpful. Anyhoo, I went back 2 days ago to see about getting a coil fitted.
My normal GP had a look up into ladyland and immediately asked me if I was due a smear test. She spent ages having a good look and poking my cervix with various things.
Apparently I’ve got a vaginal prolapse but also visual abnormalities on my cervix. I’ve got to go for an ultrasound next week to see if i’ve got fibroids/cysts on my ovaries (reason for the excessive bleeding)
but I’m more concerned that she could immediately tell something was wrong with my cervix, before I even get the results back from the smear.
I’ve got 2 agonizing weeks wait now :frowning: is there anything else it could be?

Thank you ladies

Hi babybooagloo86, I’m sorry I can’t comment on your situation but I didn’t just want to read and run. I’m no doctor so I can’t say what else the visual abnormalities might be, but from looking around this forum I know people sometimes get cysts on their cervix, which could be what your doctor has seen. I know it’s easy to say and much harder to do, but try not to panic, and you could book another appointment with your GP to talk about things with her? x x x x

My cervix looked abnormal to my GP when she did my smear test. I did turn out to have CIN3, but that was totally unrelated to the “ulcers” she said she could see, which turned out to be nebothian cysts, which are completely benign. There’s other benign things that occur quite commonly that cause your cervix to look unusual, such as ectropian. The GP scared me with what she said, and I think that was only because she didn’t really know what she was looking at. The GYN who did my colposcopy took one look and knew exactly what was going on.