treatment finished - now what?

Hi. This is my first time posting and i am just looking for a bit of advice/reassurance.

I was diagnosed stage 2b with lymph node involvement in january. I have had 5 chemo, 28 radiotherapy and 3 braccytherapy sessions, which finished on 17 March. Since then I have been in a weird kind of limbo. The results from my MRI that I had as part of my braccy were positive, my tumour was an eighth of its size, but I am now convinced its back and spread further. I am having niggling pains, that on a good day I tell myself are a reaction to what my body has been through, and on a bad day they are secondary tumours. I have my first post treatment appointment on Friday and am dreading it. Has anyone else felt like this??

thanks Becky x

Welcome to post treatment land!
I can only offer my own experiences. I am now 16 months in remission (had VAIN3 diagnosis in the middle of this but it’s not cancer so it doesn’t count right?)

My day to day life now is not taken up by worry, fear, etc. It was. And like you every pain was a prelude to death!

What I’m trying to say is, you are so ‘new’ you are going to feel like this. Of course you are. As time goes on you will slowly make more time in your day where cancer is not the uppermost thought! You will wake up and realise only after a coffee and a wee, that cancer has not crossed your mind. I promise you that will happen.

However, why am I in here at 2.30am? Because I’ve had ‘the letter’ and have a check up next week. I don’t think the fear ever goes away, it’s always there in the background. But now my achy hips and legs and back are not instantly a reoccurence they are probably a little too much gardening!

Tell your team at your check up how you feel. I am sure they will reassure you that it is perfectly normal to feel that way.

It will get better.

Hi Becky,