Too scared to get a smear.

I'm a 19 year old student and I feel like everything at the moment is going great. Apart from one little problem. Back in June I had 5 periods in the space of 7 weeks. Some lasting 4 days. and then having a few days break and them some lasting a week. on my mums side of the family the females have a crazy history for problem with there cervix. My mum had cervical cancer a few year ago and had to get a hysterectomy. So with all that in mind I thought id better take a trip to my doctors. when arriving she asked if she could give me a smear test there and then. Obviously conncerend about what I told her. I then explained I couldn't as Mother Nature was in progress. She then told me I'd have to phone up and ask for one over the phone. I was to ask for a 'vaginal examination' to the receptionist who has known me since I was 3 years old. She then explained the procedure and I left. It is now October and I still haven't contacted them. And even though my periods have went back to normal I still have that worry at the back of my head that something could be wrong. But I am too embarassed and scared to go and get checked out. I need some advice if possible. I know I should wo-man up and go. But it's fear that stops me.

Fear is a funny old thing. But its not worth bowing down to it. There are many, many reasons for irregular bleeding, but if you've a history in your family of cervical issues, you should definitely get checked. It's a little bit uncomfortable, and a big bit embarrassing, but its really not that bad. I've been having regular smears since age 17, and had borderline changes picked up in early 20s which meant more frequent ones for a few years. But my cc wasn't found until age 39, and not by smear.