Time off work- when to start

Hello ladies,

im new around here and this is my first ever forum post ever.

im recently diagnosed and luckily everything seems to be moving along quickly for me. Yesterday I had my patient registration at the Marsden and I've been given a date for my radical trachelectomy, 16th October. What I'm really worried about right now is being at work. I'm a head chef, my job is quite physically demanding and comes with a lot of stress being in char he of a team of people with all of their own problems. 

i'm on the bus to work just now and it's the last place I want to be. I feel so tired and short activities feel exhausting. I have no idea how normal this is or if I'm over thinking it. I don't know if I feel this way because I'm stressed or if it's a symptom.

i'm having a chat with my boss later today, I'm entitled to very decent sick pay. But I don't know if it's too soon to say I want to go off work or if I should stick it out for a bit longer. Or if I'm even entitled to go off now? Would my GP agree?

so many questions. If any one has faced similar what do you think? 

Thankyou :)

Hi,

I don't think there is any right or wrong answer to this. Its how you feel. For me, I prefer being in work...mainly because when I am alone, I get myself in a state thinking about it. Staying "normal" has kept me sane.

However, your job is alot more physically demanding than mine. I think the starting point is your chat with your boss. Be honest about how you feel. Hopefully they'll be very understanding. You may feel a whole lot better once you have had that chat. Good luck x