So worried & fearing the worst

Hi everyone,

i am new to this site & I'm hoping you can offer me some advice please. I am 33 & have always attended my regular smears,i have been so fortunate that until now they have all returned normal results.last week I got a letter saying that my most resent smear showed high grade changes & I would need a colposcopy. This has been booked for Friday 12 th July so not long to wait but feels like forever at the moment.i have a 3 year old son & I am trying to stay positive but keep thinking the worst & imagining that I already have cancer...I'm not good at all with the unknown & have already had cbt for health anxiety...I'm finding this so hard & would really appreciate any advice or reassurance anyone can offer.from what I have read you all sound so strong & amazing women.

thank you

xx

Hi 

im new on here too. just read your story, try not to worry too much hun.  We are all on here to support each other. pls let me know how you get on next Friday. i have my colscopy next Thursdayx

Thank you so much for your reply.hope you're not worrying too much,let me know how how get on on Thursday...my fingers are tightly crossed for you xxx

Hi boo chops,

I know it's impossible but please try not to worry too much :) 

I had exactly the same scenario as you - 2 clear smears in the past then suddenly high grade changes even though I had no symptoms. I was a nervous wreck when I got my results letter, googled it and was sure that I was going to be one of those 'rare' results came back as cancer. Your mind definitely runs away with you!