Should I get the vaxx after HPV dx?

Hi

Thank you for having me here. I was recently diagnosed with HPV with normal cytology. I am almost 44 and never had any problems with smears STIs before now.

I am a qualified nurse and I’ve done as much reading as I can in the last little while about this and believe that it may confer some benefit to me if I have the vaccination now before my smear in 12 months time.

What do people think and what are peoples experience of this?

Thank you :sparkles:

Hello yes definitely have it my gynecologist advised it , it will protect you against any HPV on the vaccine that you have not yet been exposed to and there is also some studies that suggest it may help the inmune system get rid of the active one if you have one. Definitely worth the money. Such a shame is not free for women in general. I am 43 and just finished the 3 injections last November. Gardisil 9 is the latest one.

1 Like

Thank you. I go on Thursday. I don’t mind vaxx or anything but I’m still going to feel ‘dirty’… :pensive:

Great that you are going to get the vaccine. But please don’t feel dirty HPV is everywhere anyone that has sex will most likely test positive at one point . We really need to stop being so hard on ourselves about this. I believe that the fact that men don’t get tested makes this diagnosis a women blaming game but men are also HPV positive they just don’t know it.

3 Likes

Thank you. I know that you’re right but in my heart I say on the train with my head down yesterday thinking ‘everyone knows’… then I felt guilty because I don’t even have abnormal cells, just hpv and so many people have it worse… I can’t stop thinking my husband has cheated and I literally have no one to talk to.

Thank you for having me here :sparkles: