Should I bother worrying my family at this early stage?

Hi. I am new to this (and is my first post). I am 35 and had my first smear test in about ten years in January (yes, I know....I should be ashamed of myself). My results came back within a week and I was referred for a colposcopy a couple of weeks later (i had it done 3 days ago). I was worried sick about the whole CIN 1, 2 and 3 thing as I did not know which I had. On the day of my appointment I was told I had CIN 3 (at the higher end of the CIN 3 scale). During the colposcopy I was told I had high grade cell changes so she did a LEETZ straight away and sent it off for testing (results in 3 to 4 weeks).

Now, my question is, i dont know how serious this all is. Before my colposcopy, I had myself convinced I was dying. Now after the LEETZ procedure, I have myself convinced that there is nothing wrong with me. My main concern is that I am not sure whether I should inform anyone of this (well, my boyfriend knows as he came with me to the appointment) but I am more thinking of my family (well, my mother in particular). I do not know whether any of this is even worth mentioning. I just feel really guilty when I visit her, knowing whats going on and she doesnt have a clue.

What do you guys think?

Hi 

Im new to this and have just posted my first post . i have decided this time not to tell my family as they only worry and may cause you to worry more, i only tell them after my Leitz results come back. I have been through this a few times and now feel its best not to tell my family . i have told my husband and a few friends as you do need some support its a difficult time. The leetz procedure is usually very good and no further treatment is required. Unfortunately i havent been so lucky and keeps returning .

Hope all goes well for you xx

Damage limitation.