Results waiting time- can't believe it!

So I had my colposcopy and biopsy 6 weeks ago and was told that my GP or the doctor who did my smear would send out a letter and call me about my results as soon as they were available. They said this would probably take about 3-5 weeks. However they told me not to contact the clinic unless I hadn't heard anything for 8 weeks. 

I'm a health professional and I know it can be frustrating when people nag you for results when they're not ready so I just let it go and tried to forget about it for the last 6 weeks. It suddenly dawned on me today that I could go on the computer system and access my own results. 

Turns out my biopsy results have been available since the 5th October. So for three weeks they've been sitting there on the computer and no one has followed them up! I'm a bit mad because I spent so much time worrying and my mind could have been put at rest weeks ago!

The biopsy report is mostly gobbledeegook to me but it looks like I have CIN2 and HPV associated changes but luckily it doesn't look like anything too sinister. The recommendation is for me to have a repeat colposcopy. I'm not sure why... what else would another colposcopy show that the first one didn't? 

I'm going to call the clinic tomorrow and hopefully get some more answers. 

I just can't believe how long it's all taken when the results have been back for ages. I hope this isn't happening to everyone else :( xx

Hey hope your ok hun well at least it's good news :) they will want to do a colposcopy to make sure the cells have gone xx