Results are in - CIN II

Hi everyone,

I have just received my biopsy results after 4 weeks and have CIN 2. Kind of relieved actually that it is not anything worse. They want to see me for another Colposcopy and possible Cold Coagulation treatment on the 27th August. I rang today as ideally I'd like my appointment earlier as I am back at work the following week (I'm a teacher so I'm currently off for 6 weeks at the mo) and want to heal but the lady who deals with appointments is off until Monday so need to call back. Has anybody else had Cold Coagulation? What should I expect? Seems Lletz is more common.

Thanks x

Hi i was in the same boat as you as not a lot of info on cold coagulation compared to lletz etc. My results came back with cin 2 and i had cold coagulation 2 weeks ago tuesday, i worked myself up worrying but it wasnt bad at all. It consists of choice of local anaesthtic or general or can even have it without either, i chose local because i suffer from severe anxiety and thought it was the best option for me but they will talk to you beforehand and see what fits best with you, it did sting a little bit as the local has to been given in 4 spots to numb the entire area after a few minutes they place a hot probe onto the affected area for maximum of 20 seconds can be 40 seconds if its 2 areas that need to be treated i know it sounds painful and horrible and to me sound surreal but i did not feel a thing and apparently most people choose to do it without the local anaesthtic then its over i experienced period pains but i was due on 2 days before and was late so this may have been why the only side effects as such i felt was a little sleepy that eveninh this could of been down to relief after all worrying but also down to the adrenaline in the local anesthtic wearing off.