Results and surgery (New)

Hi Ladies,

First off I'd like to thank everyone on this fantastic forum for being so brave and honest about what you are all going through. So far I've been silent whilst trying to deal with the stress of waiting for tests and results but reading everyone’s stories and sharing information has really helped me so I feel I now have a duty to share my story so far and hope that it helps those either in a similar situation or just at the beginning of the process.

I went for my smear test on 8th July 2013 as I’ve been putting it off for a few years and was having problems with unusual bleeding and needing my Mirena removed. When I went I was told I missed my last smear 3 years ago (tut tut). During the smear the nurse noticed erosion of the cervix and mentioned this might be what has been causing post intercourse bleeding but not to worry.

Two weeks later 23rd July I received My smear results showing borderline cell changes,  high risk HPV infection and that an appointment has already been made for me to attend the hospital for Colposcopy.

Three weeks later 20th August I went along for my Colposcopy which wasn’t bad at all. Although very nervous about what to expect, the nurses are very reassuring. I was asked a few simple questions about periods, unusual bleeding and any other medical information then asked to undress from the waist down and place my legs in stirrups (keeping my modesty covered) . The Colposcopy nurse explained all she was going to do was have a good look at the cervix using a magnifying camera and to help see any cell changes she would wipe my cervix with a fluid that would highlight any abnormalities. (None of this hurt and you can see what is happening on a screen if you choose to watch).