Referral after 2 years spotting, abnormalities on cervix

Okay so this is my first post and first visit to this site, but last week’s doctors appointment has left me terrified.
I will go into detail in a min but basically I have been spotting almost constantly for over two years, and been referred for colposcopy after my GP saw abnormalities on my cervix when trying to take a smear test sample. I am really worried as she went from happy to like she was at a funeral after looking and said it could be cancer. I am trying to tell myself it won’t be, but my mind is stuck on the fact it’s been over 2 years of symptoms and the way she changed and said what ever is happening is going to be rare to cause these abnormalities doesn’t help either.

So time for long story…about two years ago I went to my old Gp after spotting every day for several months. I tried coming off my contraceptive pill, not having the week off between packs and just waiting for it to stop, when it didn’t I saw my Gp who basically said I just needed to try a different contraceptive pill, this was changed several times and it never stopped. They also tested for STD’s and pregnancy (all clear). When this didn’t help they basically shrugged, so i worked through all the other GP’s at that surgery and the only one without an “oh well” attitude was very concerned and again mentioned possible cancer so said she was going to refer me, but she was leaving later that week so it never happened and the other doctors didn’t seem to share the opinion I needed the referrals. So basically I gave up trying after 6 months of getting nowhere and symptoms not improving.