really struggling!

Hi All,

Iam so new to all this and feel awful as i may not even have CC but waiting for Colposcopy following going to Dr with symptoms, and she found Growth in cervix a size of a peach!

She is also a ex gyno and was worried for me!. Im waiting for follow up now. its been 2 weeks and not heard.

Im single mum to a beautiful 3 yr old and i work full time as a psychiatric nurse. The thing is im SOOOOO Exhausted lately and ache so badly down below and lower back that i honestly today feel i cant get through another day. I kept telling my daughter today to play by herself as i just could not face it today but feel so guilty that im not being the mum she needs. Im scared and feel so in the dark. im scared im going to have to wait for the colposcopy appointment for another 4 weeks or so and really not sure i can cope with that.

i just wanted to share how im feeling today as normally such a strong bubbly person.

Hi, 

I'm so sorry you're going through this; I completely understand why you're so worried. You're right that a growth can be explained by things other than cancer, so try not to get ahead of herself (although I know that's easier said than done). However, am I to understand from what you've said that you've been put forward on a standard referral, rather than an urgent referral? You should have been put down for an urgent referral if there is a growth that size on your cervix and you've been getting symptoms. An urgent referral will get you seen within a fortnight. If you think you have been put forward as this, then ring the hospital to chase the appointment. If you think you haven't, then ring your GP and get her to ring the hospital to change the referral to urgent. I am not saying any of this because I think you've got CC or because I'm trying to scare you - I can't possibly know what the growth is - but I do know you should be on an urgent referral, so if I was you I'd start kicking up a bit of a fuss!