Post Colposcopy feeling pessimistic

Hello!

This is my first time writing on any type of forum and I have the habit of blathering on so want to start by saying thank you (and sorry!!)

I’m 27, had my 2nd smear a week ago Monday. Yesterday (Tuesday) as I was returning home from holiday I had a phone call from the hospital to come in for a Colposcopy ASAP - which turned out to be 8am the next day (today)

I hadn’t received my letter yet and I felt this has all been made to feel quite rush rush like it’s an emergency, which is making me feel a bit nervous. The doctor today, who was amazing as were all the nurses at Gloucester Hospital told me the results were severely abnormal then talked me through what was going to happen in the Colposcopy exam and treatment.

The procedure went totally fine, the doctors and nurses were brilliant esp. as I was on my own. I had LLETZ and a sample taken for biopsy.

Just now i’m home i’m feeling worried as in the past year or so I have had problems such as painful sex, bleeding after sex and last period I used a tampon and had to take it out after 5 mins because the pain inside was excruciating.

I’m sorry a lot of this is repetitive of a lot of other people’s experiences and posts here, it’s just with the symptoms I’ve been having combined with the ‘severe’ abnormality results and speed at which they got me in I’m feeling very pessimistic.

I don’t really know if im looking for reassurance or what but the internet is full of confusing information and as much as I admire the NHS and everyone who works in healthcare I feel very left in the dark about it all. Plus my husband is away so I’m alone mulling everything over!!

I guess it’s now a waiting game to get the biopsy results?

Thanks for reading. Writing it all out has made me feel somewhat better, and this forum really is immense, it’s so lovely to see women really supporting each other in times of need.

Becky.