PLEASE HELP. Atypical glandular cells.

Hi everyone,

It's my first time here and I'm terrified. I'm hoping for some words of wisdom/experience. I had 2 incidents of quite heavy bleeding after sex (I thought it was a period, that kind of volume). After the second time I decided to go for a smear (I had one 6 years ago, it was normal). The doctor examined me and said she could not see any polops etc and did the smear. Two weeks later I got a letter saying they to needed further investigate and that I had been booked in for a colposcopy. I called the hospital in question and they said it was not urgent and they would see me in 6-8 weeks. I was very frightened that I had a tumour and booked a private ultrasound where they saw nothing out of the ordinary. She said my cervix, uterus, ovaries and eggs looked fine and I looked at them myself whick was quite cool. I was very relieved and happy to wait the 2 months for colpo. However, a few days later a letter arrived from the hospital where I would be getting my colposcopy done saying that they wanted to do the ultrasound and colposcopy a lot sooner, in a week and a half. I rang them immediately and was told by the doctor in question that my smear had 'borderline' abnormalities and Atypical Glandular Cells and that was why they wanted to see me sooner. I cried and asked her if I had cancer and was I going to die. She said no, she sees a few results every year that turn out to be cancer and this was not one of them. I am so confused. If this is the case then why are they seeing me so much sooner ? I did some research on this and can get no real satisfactory explanation. Everything I read points towards CC or Uterine C. If it weren't for the postcoital bleeding I wouldn't be so worried. Is there any chance that this is benign? For the past 3 days I havs been experiencing pelvic discomfort and a bit of extra discharge. I am wondering if this is psychosomatic. How worried should I honestly be? Please please help. I am not eatin